Full name: Her Majesty's Canadian Ship JOLLIET
Motto: "OMNIA PERRUMPUMUS" / "Nothing can stop us"
HMCS JOLLIET is the 22nd Naval Reserve Division in Canada. The unit was officially inaugurated on October 7, 1989, by the Honourable Mary Collins, Associate Minister for National Defence. Many other officials were present, including the head of Maritime Command, Vice-Admiral George.
The name of HMCS JOLLIET is derived from the great explorer Louis Jolliet, who lived between 1645 and 1700. He sailed in Western Canada and discovered the Mississippi. He seems to have owned a few acres of land in the Moisie region, near Sept-Îles. Louis Jolliet died in dire poverty on one of the Mingan islands and it is believed that he rests there to this day. Jolliet was one of those unstoppable men, and inspired the motto of HMCS JOLLIET: "OMNIA PERRUMPUMUS" meaning "Nothing can stop us."
The first building that housed HMCS JOLLIET was a former elementary school, the St-Paul school located at 652 Dequen, which had been leased from the school board. In November 1993, the new facilities were completed and HMCS JOLLIET moved to its own buildings at 366 Arnaud. A main armoury, a boatshed and an indoor range make up the whole of the unit.
HMCS JOLLIET currently boasts a crew of six officers and 36 non-commissioned members.
The current Commanding Officer of HMCS JOLLIET, Lieutenant-Commander François Lévesque, took over command on June 1st, 2012, becoming the 12th CO to proudly carry the unit pennant.